SkinLovin’ Sundays #5 | Preventing & treating ingrown hairs!

Hey guys 👋 welcome back to another SkinLovin’ Sundays post as part of my weekly blog series! For those of you who are new to The Typical Beauty Blog or those of you who don’t follow me… yet 😜 its basically a series which I started to focus exclusively on skincare. So if thats something which you fancy then make sure to check every Sunday 🗓. In these weekly posts I’m gonna try to focus less on products but more on techniques & tips for you guys… so let’s get started 👉Today’s topic is: “Ingrown hair

As with anything I believe prevention is a 100x better than treatment, why bother spending time ⏲ & effort treating something when it could have just been prevented & in order to prevent ingrown hair its important to understand how they come about. A hair becomes an ingrown hair when it basically grows back into the skin 😷 …so it grows out of the skin, but then curls back inside. Really bad cases of ingrown hair also include hairs that have actually never grown past the surface & curled back these ones are especially sore to touch!

I’ve noticed that shaving is the only cause of my ingrown hair, this is because shaved hair grows back thicker & much more “prickly” in comparison to the softer edges of natural hair, making the shaved hair more susceptible to becoming ingrown. Its so easy to spot 🕵 an ingrown hair as they look like black, slightly raised bumps under the skins surface. I have this terrible habit of poking at it 👆 squeezing it & digging my nails inside to get the hair out… 8/10 I’m successful – but guys you’re not supposed to do this! 🙅 You get left with scarring!

5 ways to prevent ingrown hair:

  1. Stop shaving – is this nasty? 🙈 I don’t mean forever, but if you’re having a really bad outbreak then its best to give the skin some rest to get rid of the ingrown hairs first, before adding new ones – ya feel me?
  2. Keep it clean – I’ve personally seen that some girls tend to keep the same shaving blade for weeks 😷 I don’t care if you’ve got one of those expensive ones, you should still change the blades frequently to keep things hygienic!
  3. Scrub – You can either buy a body scrub or make one at home by mixing some brown sugar with olive oil & then scrubbing your body with it! This helps remove dead skin cells which lead to ingrown hair.
  4. Go with the flow – Did you know that its better to shave in the direction of hair growth? Cause I DIDN’T KNOW! 😱 I grew up shaving against but once I made the change IT. MADE. SUCH. A. DIFFERENCE! 👏
  5. Keep it sharp – Your blade that is, I don’t get this problem as I use disposable blades, but for those of you who reuse their blades make sure you don’t let them go blunt!

4 ways to treat ingrown hair:

  1. Don’t pick – I should listen to my own advice because picking can lead to infections 👎 don’t do it!
  2. Hair lotions – You can buy ingrow hair lotions which supposedly get rid of the ingrown hair. I picked one of these up at Boots & will review it properly at a later date 🗓
  3. Heat – If you see the hair close to the skins surface, apply some heat to the area by having a steamy shower 🚿 or using a hot towel, then using clean tweezers to remove the hair.
  4. Tea Tree Oil – This is an antiseptic therefore its really good to prevent infections & keep the inflammation down, for those puss filled bumps 😷

I realise that I’ve focused on shaving as a main cause of ingrown hair & its treatment but thats all I could honestly talk to you guys about as its the only experience I’ve had with ingrown hair. However, if you suffer from ingrown hair & don’t shave then feel free to comment on how you go about preventing/treating them 👇

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this post… If you did then please don’t forget to ‘like’ down below 👇 & follow me for more! 😁 Thankyou 💙

Love, Kimmiee.

💋

Lets connect ✨

Instagram: thetypicalbeautyblog

Twitter: TheTypicalBBlog

Pinterest: thetypicalbeautyblog

Read the previous post in the blog series here: SkinLovin’ Sundays #4 – Hair removal – whats all the fuzz?

5 thoughts on “SkinLovin’ Sundays #5 | Preventing & treating ingrown hairs!

Leave a Reply

