SkinLovin’ Sundays #13 | How bad are microbeads?

Hey guys 👋 welcome back to another SkinLovin’ Sundays post as part of my weekly blog series! For those of you who are new to The Typical Beauty Blog or those of you who don’t follow me… yet 😜 its basically a series which I started to focus exclusively on skincare. So if thats something which you fancy then make sure to check every Sunday 🗓. In these weekly posts I’m gonna try to focus less on products & more on techniques & tips for you guys… so let’s get started 👉 Today’s topic is: “How bad are microbeads?

Bad for the environment

We’ve all heard a lot about how microbeads are bad for the environment cause the little plastic pellets (usually blue) don’t dissolve in the sewerage system & therefore they cause damage to the oceans 🌊 ( I think they’re harmful to aquatic life 🐠 , but I’m not entirely sure) people are now also talking about how the beads are bad for our skin as well 😱 Apparently rubbing these against our delicate facial skin does more damage than good, but how exactly are they bad? well…

Bad for the skin

The beads are said to cause little tears on our skins surface, therefore damaging the healthy skin cells BUT they’re also said to damage the healthy skin cells underneath the skins surface which in the long term causes us to AGE faster, as the damage is done at twice the rate its repaired at… causing wrinkles & all sorts!

Bad for the eyes?!

You read that right 😱 microbeads are also bad for our eyes 👁👁 … but hang on, what do they have to do with our eyes you ask? Well… If you’ve ever used a scrub that has microbeads in it you’ll know the feeling 😵 if you haven’t let me tell you. Sometimes, albeit very rarely, these little blue balls can get into the eyes & yes its as discomforting as it sounds but usually they get out quite easily, its only sometimes when you can feel them inside your eye socket for a good couple of minutes 👎

What are the alternatives?

Many people have been turning to other ways of exfoliating their skin, many of whom are seeking biodegradable products instead cause this way they don’t affect the environment. I know some have also been using acidic peels instead as they can get rid of dead/dry skin easily in a way that doesn’t affect the environment either ( I personally haven’t used acidic peels yet so I don’t know a lot about these but I’ve always been intrigued) Currently I’ve been loving the Apricot scrub from St.Ives which uses walnut pieces as their “exfoliator” but since these are kind of harsh they recommend to only use it 2x a week 🗓

I hope this post has been interesting to read & that you’ve enjoyed reading it, if you did then please don’t forget to click ‘like’ down below 👇 & follow me for more! 😁

Love, Kimmiee.

💋

Lets connect ✨

Instagram: thetypicalbeautyblog

Twitter: TheTypicalBBlog

Pinterest: kimmieebblog

Read the previous post in the blog series here: SkinLovin’ Sundays #12 | The Benefits of Water 

34 thoughts on “SkinLovin’ Sundays #13 | How bad are microbeads?

  1. Hi Kimmiee! I have (and love!) the St. Ives Apricot Scrub as well as their Oatmeal Scrub & Mask which is great too. I had no idea how harmful microbeads are before reading your post. I usually look for things with natural ingredients and when I have tried products with microbeads they never seem to be as effective anyway. Awesome post and series! Thank you so much for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Nicky, thanks for stopping by & reading my post 💙 I’m glad that it was helpful for you! I think I should check out the Oatmeal scrub, St.Ives have an awesome range & their products tend to be winners so I’ll definitely be picking it up next time I see it! xx

      Like

  2. As an environmentalist myself i knew the microbeads were bad for the environment but i didnt know they were damaging on the skin. What an interesting read i really enjoyed it!
    As for an alternative I use sugar & coconut oil exfoliating & moisturising all in one bonus! Ahah
    Sophie | sophialeigh.net xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

