SkinLovin’ Sundays #16 |All about dark circles (eye bags)

Hey guys 👋 welcome back to another SkinLovin’ Sundays post as part of my weekly blog series! For those of you who are new to The Typical Beauty Blog or those of you who don’t follow me… yet 😜 its basically a series which I started to focus exclusively on skincare. So if thats something which you fancy then make sure to check every Sunday 🗓. In these weekly posts I’m gonna try to focus less on products & more on techniques & tips for you guys… so let’s get started 👉 Today’s topic is: “ Eye bags ”

All about genetics

Probably just about everyone I know doesn’t completely love their under-eye area 👁👁 they complain about it being dark, puffy, baggy or even just really dry! What I wanna talk about in todays post is why we get eye bags/dark circles & what we can do about them in order to reverse the effect as much as possible. I think the most important thing to understand is that features on our face have a genetic link 🔬 & in the same aspect eye bags can also be hereditary, so even though there are things you can do to make them appear better, diminishing them completely could be impossible 🙅

Sleep 😴

Lets start with the basics. SLEEP IS IMPORTANT if you don’t get enough sleep at night 💤 dark circles will get worse 👎… regardless of any eye lightening creams! Its so important to start sleeping properly as dark circles don’t just magically disappear 🔮 & there’s a good reason for this. During the rest period a lot of essential bodily functions are carried out, one of which includes flushing out toxins & fluids which our body no longer needs & if you’re not getting the rest that the body requires these fluids end up being retained leaving us with a puffy face/eye area 😰

Salty diet

This point is directly linked to the previous point, a diet high in salt leads to high levels of cell plasma concentrations 📈 & therefore low levels of cell water concentrations 📉 . To counteract this cells undergo a process called osmosis, which is where water travels from a high concentration to a low concentration 🤓 what I basically mean is that water moves into each one of your cells. I feel like I’m sitting in a science class now so I’ll just say all of this = PUFFY EYES 👎

Stay hydrated 💦

This point also links in with my previous point, as staying hydrated is SO important 🙌Dehydrated skin will do its best to maintain hydrated, this could mean retaining water in the skin. Therefore its important to use correct moisturisers, serums & lotions according to your skin type (find out your skin type here) to prevent water retention. Its also INCREDIBLY important to drink water, as water helps keeping things moving & keep things flushing out.

What can you do?

Theres a lot of things that can be done to prevent eye bags/dark circles from getting worse, which include the position you sleep in 💤 to applying sunscreen 🌞. A few things I would recommend is to AVOID salt, as you probably know by now salt isn’t good for the body, yes it makes those chips tasty 🍟 but is it worth all the negatives? Don’t even get me started on high blood pressure, so AVOID AVOID AVOID! Also try to catch atleast 8 hours of GOOD sleep at night time 🌃 & if you can try to sleep on your BACK, so theres no build up of fluids in one side of your body!

Keep your skin healthy!

Weak, thin skin leads to more visible blood vessels underneath, this is one of the reasons why as you get older eye bags get darker. The under-eye area is already so delicate & things like smoking/being around cigarette smoke 💨 could make it even worse. They say smoking prematurely ages the skin 👵🏻 & the effect of this is 10x worse on the under-eye area in comparison to the rest of the body! So steer away from cigarette smoke & lastly DON’T forget to use a good eye cream, make sure to GENTLY pat it on!

I hope this post has been interesting & that you’ve enjoyed reading it, if you did then please don’t forget to click ‘like’ down below 👇 & follow me for more! 😁

Love, Kimmiee.

💋

Lets connect ✨

Instagram: thetypicalbeautyblog

Twitter: TheTypicalBBlog

Pinterest: thetypicalbeautyblog

Read the previous post in the blog series here: SkinLovin’ Sundays #15 | Are you (unknowingly) blocking your pores?

41 thoughts on “SkinLovin’ Sundays #16 |All about dark circles (eye bags)

  1. Oh my goodness, I LOVED this post Kimmiee! I suffer really badly with my dark circles so I found this incredibly useful! I love using a good eye cream but I always sleep on my front so that’s probably not the best idea haha! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve found that constant hydration is so good at keeping dark circles at bay! I drink so much these days and now I hardly have dark circles at all! Great tips by the way x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thats amazing! The power of water ehh! I really need to start drinking more water on a regular basis, I go through times where I drink lots & then times where I don’t drink enough! Anyways thanks so much for stopping by & reading, I’m glad you enjoyed my post! xx

      Like

  3. Love to learn about new skin health habits! I live in florida and the sun is killer so I’m sure even with all the sunscreen I wear I have so much sun damage. I’m willing to try anything to reverse the damage!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

